Skip to main content

Publications by Undergraduates

One of the most exciting and rewarding outcomes of biological research, other than making the actual discoveries, is the chance to tell the world about it.  Below are publications co-authored by Biological Sciences undergraduates.

Beitel lab (Samantha Gbur):

Non-Canonical Roles for Yorkie and Drosophila Inhibitor of Apoptosis 1 in Epithelial Tube Size Control

Bozza lab (Ross Zhan):

Non-redundant coding of aversive odours in the main olfactory pathway

Brickner lab (Abbey Thompson):

A conserved role for human Nup98 in altering chromatin structure and promoting epigenetic transcriptional memory.

Transcription factor binding to a DNA zip code controls interchromosomal clustering at the nuclear periphery.

Horvath lab (Rebecca Kim):

High-Density Nucleosome Occupancy Map of Human Chromosome 9p21-22 Reveals Chromatin Organization of the Type I Interferon Gene Cluster

Extensive cooperation of immune master regulators IRF3 and NFκB in RNA Pol II recruitment and pause release in human innate antiviral transcription.

Horvath lab (Katie Krause):

Small RNA profiling of influenza A virus-infected cells identifies miR-449b as a regulator of histone deacetylase 1 and interferon beta.

Klein lab (Margaret Wood):

Abeta oligomer-induced aberrations in synapse composition, shape, and density provide a molecular basis for loss of connectivity in Alzheimer's disease

Klein lab (Diana Wu):

Alzheimer's disease-type neuronal tau hyperphosphorylation induced by A beta oligomers

Klein lab (Kevin Lee, Benjamin Tiano):

Synapse-binding subpopulations of Aβ oligomers sensitive to peptide assembly blockers and scFv antibodies.  

Lamb lab (Albert Song):

Fusion activation through attachment protein stalk domains indicates a conserved core mechanism of paramyxovirus entry into cells.

Linsenmeier lab (Josh Eassa):

Effect of isoflurane on brain tissue oxygen tension and cerebral autoregulation in rabbits.

Meade lab (Kevin Dam):

Mechanisms of Gadographene-Mediated Proton Spin Relaxation.  

Meade lab (David Kajanski):

Cell labeling via membrane-anchored lipophilic MR contrast agents. 

Morimoto lab (Bobby Porter):

Regulation of organismal proteostasis by transcellular chaperone signaling. 

Morimoto lab (Happy Thakkar):

A genetic screening strategy identifies novel regulators of the proteostasis network. 

Morimoto lab (Tyler Cornelius):

Regulation of the cellular heat shock response in Caenorhabditis elegans by thermosensory neurons. 

Radhakrishnan lab (Arvind Krishnan):

Structural basis for molecular interactions involving MRG domains: implications in chromatin biology. 

Radhakrishnan lab (Anand Patel):

Sequence requirements for combinatorial recognition of histone H3 by the MRG15 and Pf1 subunits of the Rpd3S/Sin3S corepressor complex. (

Radhakrishnan lab (Afsaneh Talai):

Mechanism of CREB recognition and coactivation by the CREB-regulated transcriptional coactivator CRTC2

Turek lab (Kate Cavanaugh):

Disruption of the Circadian Clock in Mice Increases Intestinal Permeability and Promotes Alcohol-Induced Hepatic Pathology and Inflammation.

Wang lab (Anita Turk):

Mammalian hyperplastic discs homolog EDD regulates miRNA-mediated gene silencing. 

Wang lab (Tina Zhu):

PDCD10/CCM3 acts downstream of {gamma}-protocadherins to regulate neuronal survival.